Festival Artists

Violins – Magnus Johnston , Martyn Jackson

Viola – Sarah-Jane Bradley

Cellos – Pierre Doumenge, Tim Lowe

Piano – Andrew Brownell


Thursday 21 September 7.30pm     National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church

Haydn String Quartet C major, Op. 74 no. 1
Mendelssohn String Quartet in F minor, Op. 80

Schubert String Quartet No. 13 in A minor, (Rosamunde) D804

Ticket: £15 unreserved

Friday 22 September 1.00pm – 2.00pm      Unitarian Chapel, St Saviourgate

Lunchtime Recital by Andrew Brownell (Piano)
Hummel Fantasie in E flat, Op. 18

Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 1 Op. 27

The recital is followed by piano masterclasses given by Andrew Brownell for local young pianists. Finishing 3.30pm

Ticket: £10 unreserved (inc masterclasses) Masterclasses only £5

Friday 22 September 7.30pm           Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York

Festival Artists

Beethoven Piano Trio No. 7 in B flat major, Op. 97 Archduke
Schubert String Quintet in C Major, D956

Ticket: £15 unreserved

Saturday 23 September 1.00pm – 2.00pm          Unitarian Chapel, St Saviourgate


Lunchtime Recital by Tim Lowe (Cello) and Andrew Brownell (Piano)

Beethoven Seven Variations on ‘Bei  männern, welche liebe fühlen’ from Mozart’s opera ‘The Magic Flute’ Wo04

Fauré Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op.117

Bohuslav Martinu   Variations on a Theme by Rossini for Cello and Piano

The recital is followed by cello masterclasses given by Tim Lowe for local young cellists. Finishing 3.30pm

At 10.30am, there is a violin masterclass by Magnus Johnston. All welcome.

Ticket: £10 unreserved (inc masterclasses). Masterclasses only £5

Saturday 23 September 7.30pm          Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York


Mozart  Piano Quartet G minor K478
Schubert  Notturno E flat major for piano trio  D.897
Brahms Piano Quartet G minor, Op. 25

Ticket: £15 unreserved


At all events children and young people age 18 and under enter for £5.